Other The 14 Lokas

The 14 Lokas: Part 1

There are 14 Lokas (realms), 6 are above and 7 are below us. The below mentioned Lokas are the top-half of everything. So let’s go right in!

Satya Loka: Meaning, “The realm of Truth”, it’s the highest Loka. It’s the Divine abode of Lord Brahma and his wives. It has the most beautiful gardens with the most fragrant flowers.

Tapa Loka: Tapa Loka is inhabited by immortal beings who are personifications of knowledge.

Jana Loka: Jana Loka is where realised beings live, they can travel to any Loka at the speed of thought.

Mahar Loka: Mahar Loka is where Rishis and Sages live, they have become greater than the Devas themselves by performing severe penance.

Svarg Loka: This is where the Devas live, it is commonly mistaken as heaven. It is also home to Sages and Gandharvas.

Bhuvar Loka: This is where the Sun and the planets reside.

Bhu Loka: This is where you and I reside, this is also the home of other humans and animals.

In the above Lokas, there is scope for sideways movement, and there are worlds within these realms. The idea of Heaven is not as simple as it seems!