Other The 14 Lokas

The 14 Lokas: Part 1

There are 14 Lokas (realms), 6 are above and 7 are below us. The below mentioned Lokas are the top-half of everything. So let’s go right in!

Satya Loka: Meaning, “The realm of Truth”, it’s the highest Loka. It’s the Divine abode of Lord Brahma and his wives. It has the most beautiful gardens with the most fragrant flowers.

Tapa Loka: Tapa Loka is inhabited by immortal beings who are personifications of knowledge.

Jana Loka: Jana Loka is where realised beings live, they can travel to any Loka at the speed of thought.

Mahar Loka: Mahar Loka is where Rishis and Sages live, they have become greater than the Devas themselves by performing severe penance.

Svarg Loka: This is where the Devas live, it is commonly mistaken as heaven. It is also home to Sages and Gandharvas.

Bhuvar Loka: This is where the Sun and the planets reside.

Bhu Loka: This is where you and I reside, this is also the home of other humans and animals.

In the above Lokas, there is scope for sideways movement, and there are worlds within these realms. The idea of Heaven is not as simple as it seems!

By DhyanKatha

Hi, I’m a 12-year-old homeschooler. I’m interested in Carnatic classical music. I’m fascinated by Indian epics and other untold stories.

One reply on “The 14 Lokas: Part 1”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s